www.design-zeal.com

Design, Eat, Travel….Repeat!

Emerson Nursery- DIY Phase

All right Zealots, here is the second phase of the nursery for Daniel. I’ll be honest, I had 9 months to convert this room from my guest room to his nursery but I did not start the process until month 6. I think half of the problem was my fear of committing to paint colors and fabrics. I can tell other people all day long what to pick and put in their own homes but choosing anything for myself is like saying yes to a marriage proposal. I had to recruit family help for all the moving, painting, and building that went into the room. I tried to sneak behind my husband’s back and paint the nursery without him but he caught me in the act and banned me from the room for the weekend; that was a tough order to obey…I don’t like not being in control! Check out the progression below, I’m still searching for a picture of the guest room before we took everything out…my phone and camera are now clogged with pictures of the baby :)

Clean room, blank slate. Let the painting begin!

Clean room, blank slate. Let the painting begin!

Attempting the first set of horizontal stripes...I was so nervouse because if the first line is not straight and level, the entire room will be off!

Attempting the first set of horizontal stripes…I was so nervous because if the first line is not level, the entire room will be off! And of course there is always a trusty animal near by to help.

I went with the bold choice of horizontal navy stripes on the wall. Horizontal stripes will make the room appear larger and continue to carry the eye around the room. I had to commit to a color and was traveling to High Point Market in April when I asked my father-in-law to buy a gallon of Indigo by Sherwin Williams that was on sale. I just needed to rip off the band-aid and move on with the design process. On that trip to High Point I also picked up the retro white light fixture at Gypsy Market Place. Check out our blog on them…it’s such a cool company.

Finally have all the walls taped off and the family affair of painting has begun!

Finally have all the walls taped off and the family affair of painting has begun! I think we used 3 rolls of painters tape before we got smart and popped chalk lines on the walls.

The painting is finally finished and new light fixture is installed!

The painting is finally finished and new light fixture is installed!

My original layout for the furniture. After moving all the pieces 3 times I finally settled on a diferent layout. Someyimes you just need to get the furniture in the room to really know how it works best.

My original layout for the furniture. After moving all the pieces 3 times I finally settled on a different layout. Sometimes you just need to get the furniture in the room to really know how it works best.

All three of these pieces came from Overstock.com. I use their furniture all the time. You cannot beat their free shipping and customer service.

All three of these pieces came from Overstock.com. I use their furniture all the time. You cannot beat their free shipping and customer service.

I chose a buffet with 4 doors for the changing table instead of going the traditional  route. I prefer opening doors rather than dealing with drawers and shoving things in them; the doors seem to keep me more organized. Staying true to myself and designs, I went with a mix of wood tones and shades of greens. I just think it makes the overall design feel more comfortable and lived in. I’m really excited to share the final product with you. Hopefully, I will be able to get the pictures up in the next few days. Afterall, it took me the entire day to get this typed. I’ve been sitting on the sofa typing with one hand as my other is occupied by a sleeping baby!

Happy Hump Day!

-V for DZ

One comment on “Emerson Nursery- DIY Phase

  1. dax
    August 1, 2013

    Looks great Vanessa, can’t believe I don’t see any Georgia colors. :))

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 31, 2013 by in Design Formulas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Blogs I Follow

Flattery will get you everywhere!

Our rules and guide lines

Community

The Gentlemen's Review

The Art of the Gentilhomme

Salt and Serenity

Tales from my kitchen

Salt and Serenity

Tales from my kitchen

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

